New to the game…

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  NokieVA 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

bamzone91
    Participant

Hello community,

I am active duty and have been so for 4 years (currently aged 24). I just joined the TSP band-wagon and very much regret wasting my money for the past 4 and a half years of services. I am writing to ask people with high experience with TSP as I am currently doing research and learning TSP and Roth TSP. I am an open book and would like to ask the question: “If you could go back in time (in my current day in age) and give yourself TSP advise what would it be?” I am brand new to investment opportunities and saving for my retirement but an severely intrigued and want to make the most of my time. I am enjoying reading and researching on this site as it have great information. I am intrigued to learn the market methodology. Looking forward to hearing from the community.

MrSnrub

I would’ve taken all my money out of my TSP and invested it in Apple stock.

aoak

Your goal should be to at least match the government’s 5% match in the TSP. After that goal had been reached, aim to max out your contributions to the TSP ($18000). It took me 8.5 years to get to the latter goal but I finally got there. After this goal has been achieved, open an IRA and max it out ($5500/year). Take advantage of these tax sheltered accounts. If you do not own your own home yet, and currently rent, save money for a down payment and buy a home. If you are so inclined, read up on acquiring rental properties. Check out Investfourmore.com. I would have started this at your age if I could start over…

ScottyD

Aoak,

Military doesn’t have match.