model or formula for monthly TSP allocations

THE THRIFT SAVINGS PLAN ALLOCATION GUIDE Forums Message Board model or formula for monthly TSP allocations

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  tmj 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

NokieVA
    Participant

Has anyone created a monthly allocations model or formula for TSP?

I have been working on one for a a couple of months and am trying to see if others have done this.

I’ve created a website to memorialize my allocations and eventually prove its worth –> http://www.TSPinvestor.com

To be clear, this system has no human decision making on the monthly allocations .. and that is what I’m wondering about that others have developed.

I ran historical data through the model and got a 2005-2014 return for a Basic version at 12%. This uses only the fund historical data for input. And the Plus version returns 19%, and uses a few leading economic factors as input in addition to the fund historical data.

I’m interested in seeing what others have done. I’ve seen plenty of monthly allocation advice, but I’m not convinced it doesn’t involve a human decision.

Cheers,

Cheers,
    Jeff

www.TSPinvestor.com

Stephan

When something sounds to good to be true…

NokieVA
    Participant

not sure what that means .. and that isn’t an answer to my question .. if you have some useful comments and questions, I’m all ears

Cheers,
    Jeff

www.TSPinvestor.com

Anne