Investing in only One fund vs. L-funds???

THE THRIFT SAVINGS PLAN ALLOCATION GUIDE Forums Message Board Investing in only One fund vs. L-funds???

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  TS Paul 4 years ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

aoak
    Participant

Hello and thank you very much for your insightful and clear cut advice about the TSP.

I have been invested in the tsp for 7 years and have accumulated $86k over that time span by being invested in the L-2040 Fund and now the L-2050. I started off giving only about $100 every two weeks for the two years that I was a SCEP student and now I am up to giving $14,500 per year now that I am a full time employee. My goal is to reach the $18,000 maximum contribution as soon as I can.

I have always been of the mindset that I should be diversified. My mindset has been changed after reading a post on one of the forums on your website that explained how the S fund and C-Fund are highly diversified among a multiplicity of different industries. So a person can attain diversification simply by investing in one fund instead of all 5 like I am currently doing. As you have stated in some other posts, I will paraphrase, “a person will be affected by a severe crash in the market more so with a ‘100% S Fund allotment,’ compared with someone that has a small percentage within bonds and the rest in the S-Fund.” (This can be said for the C fund and the I fund as well.) You have mentioned that it can take a person about 18 months to get back to break-even if the fund they are invested went down by 30%. So if I had $100,000 invested and lost 30% in one year ($30,000), it would take me 18 months to get the value of my portfolio back up to $100,000, granted I did not contribute anything more to it during those 18 months? How did you calculate your “average breakeven time span rate.”